Call 508-672-6340

  

Mission

At the Boys & Girls Club of Fall River, our mission is to enable our youth to reach their full potential as caring, responsible, and productive citizens.

Our nonprofit organization believes that every child in the Fall River, MA community should have a safe place where they can learn, play, and grow. They deserve a sanctuary where caring adults guide, supervise, and lead them to adulthood. The Boys & Girls Club of Fall River is that place.

Using the full extent of our powers, we assure that our members will complete high school and have access to a postsecondary education. In partnership with other community members, we will be outstanding stewards of the public’s trust and our donors’ gifts.

We do this by:

mission_2
facitities
  • Providing a safe place for children to play, discover, learn, serve, and dream
  • Modeling caring, responsible, and productive behavior
  • Helping 100% of our members graduate from high school and assisting them with college awareness, access, and success
  • Efficiently using our resources, both human and capital, so that we can be outstanding stewards of the public trust

History

  • 1890 – The Boys & Girls Club of Fall River was founded on February 1; the first meeting place and clubhouse was a storefront on Third Street
  • 1892 – The Boys' Club of Fall River became incorporated
  • 1897 – A new clubhouse was opened on Anawan St.; it was the first building built specifically for a Boys' Club in the nation
  • 1906 – The club became a National Movement of Federation of Boys' Clubs charter member
  • 1967 – A new and expanded facility was opened at 803 Bedford St., our present location
  • 1982 – The Boys' Club of Fall River changed to the Boys & Girls Club of Fall River
  • 2005 – We expanded our facilities with an 18,000-square-foot, three-level addition

Facilities

The club is housed in a tri-level building that was constructed in 1967. It occupies 55,000 square feet of program space. The space includes a learning center, swimming pool, gymnasium, game room, art room, technology center, multi-purpose dance room, full kitchen, dining area, and teen center.

Staff

tutoring_program

Peter McCarthy – Executive Director
Email: Pmccarthy@fallriverbgc.org

Bill Kiley – Finance Director
Email: Bkiley@fallriverbgc.org

Melissa Viveiros – Operations Director
Email: Metavares@fallriverbgc.org

Monica Tavares – Social Recreation Director
Email: Mtavares@fallriverbgc.org

Mimi Larrivee – Teen Director
Email: Mlarrivee@fallriverbgc.org

John Cuillo – Activities Director
Email: Jcuillo@fallriverbgc.org

Vikki Reis – Youth Services Program Director
Email: Vreis@fallriverbgc.org

Alison Tully - Licensed After School Director
Email: atully@fallriverbgc.org

Board of Directors

Officers

James M. Karam – President
Joan Medeiros – Vice President

Mark Cordeiro – Treasurer
Robert Bogan – Secretary

Board of Directors

Honorary Directors

Brad Faxon
Lisa Lundy-Kusinitz3
Stacey Charlton

Jack Ledwidge
Myron Wilner

Executive Director
Peter McCarthy

To learn more about our organization and mission, contact us today at 508-672-6340.